A90 Supra MKV on the dyno

Goose

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Posts
455
Reaction score
714
Location
NC
Car(s)
2013 FRS
We've got the Supra on the dyno now, and we're going to be doing some runs. I figured this way, when I post the video, everyone can find it easier.

20190723_104232.jpg




Advertisement


 

AHP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Posts
200
Reaction score
329
Location
CLT, NC
Car(s)
'93 Supra TT Hardtop, '09 Corvette ZR1, '07 Corvette, '13 G37x, '10 Escalade ESV
Vehicle Showcase
1
Wasting no time, nice! I saw you post on a few local FB pages. If I hadn't just gotten back into town I'd swing by to see it. Test n Tune at Rockingham this Saturday? :thumbsup:
 
OP

Goose

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Posts
455
Reaction score
714
Location
NC
Car(s)
2013 FRS
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #4
Advise! Do not try to dyno with the hood open. It throws codes. Make sure you put the car in Dyno Mode. We're trying to clear the codes before we try again.
 
OP

Goose

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Posts
455
Reaction score
714
Location
NC
Car(s)
2013 FRS
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
Wasting no time, nice! I saw you post on a few local FB pages. If I hadn't just gotten back into town I'd swing by to see it. Test n Tune at Rockingham this Saturday? :thumbsup:
Gotta work, unfortunately. But I'll be at the shop for a couple hours.
 

whostorm05

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ryan
Joined
May 18, 2019
Posts
254
Reaction score
110
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Car(s)
2016 Subaru Outback 3.6R Limited, 1991 Pontiac TransAm
Can you explain how to enable dyno mode? I have a friend with a two wheel dyno and I believe turning that on will be required.
 

whostorm05

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ryan
Joined
May 18, 2019
Posts
254
Reaction score
110
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Car(s)
2016 Subaru Outback 3.6R Limited, 1991 Pontiac TransAm
Can you explain how to enable dyno mode? I have a friend with a two wheel dyno and I believe turning that on will be required.
 
OP

Goose

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Posts
455
Reaction score
714
Location
NC
Car(s)
2013 FRS
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #8
Can you explain how to enable dyno mode? I have a friend with a two wheel dyno and I believe turning that on will be required.
We're sorting that now. From what I was told, hold down the TC button for 10 seconds. But we are driving it to clear codes right quick
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
773
Reaction score
907
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Dyno mode....

Unless they changed it for Toyota......

1. Ignition on
2. Clear Dash menu by hitting the BC button on the Selector stalk below turn signal
3. hold the trip reset on the cluster until a hidden menu appear.
4. move to 03 (testertribe, sorry spelled wrong, doing off memory)
5. hold dsc until off (5 seconds about)
6. then hold the dash trip button again to select
7. press once more

Dyno mode enabled.

8. start car
9. put sport plus

Have fun.
 
OP

Goose

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Posts
455
Reaction score
714
Location
NC
Car(s)
2013 FRS
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
Dyno mode....

Unless they changed it for Toyota......

1. Ignition on
2. Clear Dash menu by hitting the BC button on the Selector stalk below turn signal
3. hold the trip reset on the cluster until a hidden menu appear.
4. move to 03 (testertribe, sorry spelled wrong, doing off memory)
5. hold dsc until off (5 seconds about)
6. then hold the dash trip button again to select
7. press once more

Dyno mode enabled.

8. start car
9. put sport plus

Have fun.
We're having trouble getting the car to stay in gear.

20190723_123921.jpg
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
773
Reaction score
907
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
We're having trouble getting rhe car to stay in gear.
what gear are you in? put in Manual mode. and try not to hit the kickdown detent in the pedal. Stock tune 8ZF will still kick down a gear in manual if you hit the kickdown with the RPMs too low for the dyno gear.
 
OP

Goose

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Posts
455
Reaction score
714
Location
NC
Car(s)
2013 FRS
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
what gear are you in? put in Manual mode. and try not to hit the kickdown detent in the pedal. Stock tune 8ZF will still kick down a gear in manual if you hit the kickdown with the RPMs too low for the dyno gear.

I'll tell Stu. I was looking for the number to call you on your site.

We tried in 5th and 6th, keeps shifting up
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
773
Reaction score
907
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
I'll tell Stu. I was looking for the number to call you on your site.

We tried in 5th and 6th, keeps shifting up
use 5th.

Start at like 2800-3000rpm. Stock tune 8HP will kick you out of gear. But you may also be hitting the kickdown switch. pedal needs to be pressed to right before the kickdown switch
 

scoates

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Posts
283
Reaction score
264
Location
UK
Car(s)
2015 GT86, 2020 Supra A90 Edition
There is a video on YouTube from JP Performance in Germany where they get it to Dyno successfully. I'll see if I can find it and they show how to get it into the mode, not sure if you've done that method or not. Probably won't be of any help but you never know!
 

Advertisement











 


Advertisement


Top