Featured A90 Supra MKV on the dyno

Discussion in 'General Supra Topics' started by Goose, Jul 23, 2019.

  1. Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    413
    Liked:
    649
    We've got the Supra on the dyno now, and we're going to be doing some runs. I figured this way, when I post the video, everyone can find it easier.

    20190723_104232.jpg
     
  2. AHP

    AHP Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    '93 Supra TT Hardtop, '09 Corvette ZR1, '07 Corvette, '13 G37x, '10 Escalade ESV
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Location:
    CLT, NC
    Posts:
    158
    Liked:
    254
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    Wasting no time, nice! I saw you post on a few local FB pages. If I hadn't just gotten back into town I'd swing by to see it. Test n Tune at Rockingham this Saturday? :thumbsup:
     
    Memphis likes this.
  3. tedan628

    tedan628 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Andy
    Car(s):
    2015 Sti, 2005 Forester XT
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Location:
    New jersey
    Posts:
    184
    Liked:
    127
    numbers please
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    413
    Liked:
    649
    Advise! Do not try to dyno with the hood open. It throws codes. Make sure you put the car in Dyno Mode. We're trying to clear the codes before we try again.
     
    mikedotd, Mk5nut, Vaevictum and 2 others like this.
  5. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    413
    Liked:
    649
    Gotta work, unfortunately. But I'll be at the shop for a couple hours.
     
    Vaevictum likes this.
  6. whostorm05

    whostorm05 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    Land Rover Range Rover Supercharged, Trans Am
    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts:
    128
    Liked:
    74
    Can you explain how to enable dyno mode? I have a friend with a two wheel dyno and I believe turning that on will be required.
     
    XtremeMaC likes this.
  7. whostorm05

    whostorm05 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    Land Rover Range Rover Supercharged, Trans Am
    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts:
    128
    Liked:
    74
    Can you explain how to enable dyno mode? I have a friend with a two wheel dyno and I believe turning that on will be required.
     
    XtremeMaC likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    413
    Liked:
    649
    We're sorting that now. From what I was told, hold down the TC button for 10 seconds. But we are driving it to clear codes right quick
     
  9. Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    98
    Liked:
    175
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    Dyno mode....

    Unless they changed it for Toyota......

    1. Ignition on
    2. Clear Dash menu by hitting the BC button on the Selector stalk below turn signal
    3. hold the trip reset on the cluster until a hidden menu appear.
    4. move to 03 (testertribe, sorry spelled wrong, doing off memory)
    5. hold dsc until off (5 seconds about)
    6. then hold the dash trip button again to select
    7. press once more

    Dyno mode enabled.

    8. start car
    9. put sport plus

    Have fun.
     
    Mk5nut, Vaevictum, mas921 and 5 others like this.
  10. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    413
    Liked:
    649
    We're having trouble getting the car to stay in gear.

    20190723_123921.jpg
     
  11. Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    98
    Liked:
    175
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    what gear are you in? put in Manual mode. and try not to hit the kickdown detent in the pedal. Stock tune 8ZF will still kick down a gear in manual if you hit the kickdown with the RPMs too low for the dyno gear.
     
    REDL1NE likes this.
  12. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    413
    Liked:
    649

    I'll tell Stu. I was looking for the number to call you on your site.

    We tried in 5th and 6th, keeps shifting up
     
  13. Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    98
    Liked:
    175
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    use 5th.

    Start at like 2800-3000rpm. Stock tune 8HP will kick you out of gear. But you may also be hitting the kickdown switch. pedal needs to be pressed to right before the kickdown switch
     
  14. scoates

    scoates Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2015 GT86, 2020 Supra A90 Edition
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    Posts:
    244
    Liked:
    242
    There is a video on YouTube from JP Performance in Germany where they get it to Dyno successfully. I'll see if I can find it and they show how to get it into the mode, not sure if you've done that method or not. Probably won't be of any help but you never know!
     
  15. scoates

    scoates Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2015 GT86, 2020 Supra A90 Edition
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    Posts:
    244
    Liked:
    242


    I think that's the link. Hope you manage to get it sorted!
     
    Ghostop and XtremeMaC like this.

Share This Page

Loading...