Anyone Tried Coding the Supra Yet?

Discussion in 'Electronics, Audio, NAV, Communications' started by oakleyguy, Oct 1, 2019.

  1. oakleyguy

    oakleyguy Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Nate
    Car(s):
    URJ200, UZJ100, FZJ80
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Posts:
    59
    Liked:
    41
    Hi all,

    Anyone out there tried doing any coding or seeing what our options are yet?

    Last time I did any coding on BMW systems was back in 2015, so I'm not sure how everything has changed since.
     
  2. larrymz3

    larrymz3 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Posts:
    184
    Liked:
    75
    Yes, Bimmercode works well for a ton of coding options. Make sure you pick the latest Z4.
     
  3. Supra Dupra

    Supra Dupra Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    Supra MKV LE (Nocturnal Black)
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Location:
    United States
    Posts:
    359
    Liked:
    453
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    Maybe this has nothing to do with it, but didn't the Supra use one generation older than the Z4 in terms of its system and technology? Not sure if this affects coding but mainly just somewhat curious as to whether they can be coded the same.
     
  4. Illsic_Design

    Illsic_Design Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Josh
    Car(s):
    E92 335i N54, 4G63T Mighty Max
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Location:
    Nor-Cal
    Posts:
    127
    Liked:
    182
    Occupation:
    Inspector
    It uses the older I drive unit/system, but everything else I would suspect is current like modules and DME, etc. so coding would not change from the new Z4.
     
  5. CarGuy11

    CarGuy11 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra Prem/Assist Blue, 2016 C7 Corvette Z51, 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Posts:
    159
    Liked:
    77
    ^^^ What all have you changed so far with BimmerCode?
     
    084runnerltd likes this.
  6. Brian04

    Brian04 Member

    First Name:
    Brian
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Location:
    Houston
    Posts:
    11
    Liked:
    7
    I changed my auto start/stop to remember the last setting it was on when after the car is turned off. Turned my seatbelt reminders off. Some other things I can’t remember at the moment.
     
  7. spike89

    spike89 Member

    Car(s):
    1966 Mustang 1989 Supra 2017 Tacoma 2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Posts:
    10
    Liked:
    3
    Need coding to disable changing car iDrive, Vehicle, Phone etc settings WITHOUT a key. Also coding to allow car to be locked without a key.
     
  8. CarGuy11

    CarGuy11 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra Prem/Assist Blue, 2016 C7 Corvette Z51, 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Posts:
    159
    Liked:
    77
    How does the video in motion work? Can you play YouTube from your phone & show on screen or only downloaded movies on USB drive?
     
    084runnerltd likes this.
  9. spike89

    spike89 Member

    Car(s):
    1966 Mustang 1989 Supra 2017 Tacoma 2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Posts:
    10
    Liked:
    3
    I have played with the screen mirroring which probably would play youtube videos. Tried using a dvd drive via usb to play a movie and that did not work. Did not try any further.
     
  10. CarGuy11

    CarGuy11 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra Prem/Assist Blue, 2016 C7 Corvette Z51, 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Posts:
    159
    Liked:
    77
    We need to find out if remote start can be activated since option on Z4.
     
    084runnerltd likes this.
  11. spike89

    spike89 Member

    Car(s):
    1966 Mustang 1989 Supra 2017 Tacoma 2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Posts:
    10
    Liked:
    3
    Supra A90 MKV Enthusiest is the FB group. Link shows how to code the DIM_VARIANT to OLD to allow screen brightness during daytime
     
    084runnerltd likes this.
  12. Trojan1992

    Trojan1992 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Jon
    Car(s):
    RS3, GT3, TRD Pro 4Runner and JCW Mini Cooper
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    Posts:
    104
    Liked:
    142
    Here is how to correct the brightness issue of the iDrive screen during the day. 1- Purchase OBDii Adapter (i used OBDLink MX+) 2- Purchase FULL version of bimmercode app 3- start bimmercode app and connect and select BMW for car 4- select BMW Z4 (G29) 5- select Headunit 6- select Expert Mode at top 7- select 3005 DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG 8- scroll WAY down and select DIM_VARIANT 9- change setting from NEW to OLD 10- click OK. 11- Then backup on screens to the HEADUnit ECU screen. 12- select CODE at top right. Accept risk and let it do its thing. It will wipe out the 8 hot keys so you will need to remember what you set them to. This will enable the Brightness control to be used during Daytime. It will now say Brightness versus Brightness during Nighttime. If the dealer ever does a ECU flash you will have to redo this
     
  13. CarGuy11

    CarGuy11 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra Prem/Assist Blue, 2016 C7 Corvette Z51, 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Posts:
    159
    Liked:
    77
    Has any tried turning off the Active Sound Design? Notice much difference in engine sound?
     
  14. 084runnerltd

    084runnerltd Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Jake
    Car(s):
    08 4Runner / 99’ Lexus LX470 / Deposit 2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Location:
    ND
    Posts:
    393
    Liked:
    362
    Occupation:
    Financial Advisor
    Garage Profiles:
    3
    So have all of you just crossed your fingers and coded it as the Z4??

    I am a little nervous, but it looks like the only option for the Supra is the auto start/stop....all other options go through Z4 (in regards to bimmercode)

    I reached out to bimmercode, they said that they are not actively testing on Supras, as they don’t have access to one.

    Has anyone had any bad effects after coding while stating the car is a z4 using bimmercode?
     
  15. spike89

    spike89 Member

    Car(s):
    1966 Mustang 1989 Supra 2017 Tacoma 2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Posts:
    10
    Liked:
    3
    These are the coding I have done to my 2020 Supra via bimmercode. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK - I used BMW Z4 for Vehicle not Toyota Supra

    74591683_10218775006660771_2160305847660445696_n.jpg
     
    084runnerltd likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...