Dealer Flash Update Lock

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
887
Reaction score
1,077
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Sure that’s understood. Could I do datalogs and email the file to you for tuning, or does the vehicle physically need to be on the dyno? Thank you for your help.

Edit: and no I don’t have issues with the throttle closure but there seem to be a lot of people experiencing that at higher boost pressures esp. with the pure turbo upgrade

yes we can do everything via email. im in new york and tune people daily globally.
Advertisement

 

Azian6er

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2019
Messages
54
Reaction score
43
Location
Ohio
Car(s)
Supra gr
yes we can do everything via email. im in new york and tune people daily globally.
I was just told on the Supra Facebook page that Bootmod3 is now compatible via obd without a bench flash. Do you know if that is accurate?

Referencing the MAPerformance tuning thread on FB.
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
887
Reaction score
1,077
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
I was just told on the Supra Facebook page that Bootmod3 is now compatible via obd without a bench flash. Do you know if that is accurate?

Referencing the MAPerformance tuning thread on FB.

yea, ill edit, BM owner just messaged me and let me know BM can do it too.
 

tadda

Well-Known Member
First Name
Tom
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
989
Reaction score
1,340
Location
Arizona
Car(s)
2020 Supra 3.0 Premium
Vehicle Showcase
1
Question for those that may be considering purchasing a flash tune...

Is there anyway to find out if your Supra has had an ECU update done? I understand that for those who purchased their Supra after Nov there is a very good chance an update was done during prep and your ECU is locked out from using Ecutek, BM3, and MHD tunes...

Has any progress been made to gain access to ECU for flash through OBDII for those that have their ECU's locked....
 

XPOTTEDPLANTX

Well-Known Member
First Name
julian
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
229
Reaction score
130
Location
san antonio tx
Website
www.twitch.tv
Car(s)
2020 supra, 09 sti hatch, 69 nova, 68 camaro
Question for those that may be considering purchasing a flash tune...

Is there anyway to find out if your Supra has had an ECU update done? I understand that for those who purchased their Supra after Nov there is a very good chance an update was done during prep and your ECU is locked out from using Ecutek, BM3, and MHD tunes...

Has any progress been made to gain access to ECU for flash through OBDII for those that have their ECU's locked....
i purchased in december and had no issue flashing
 

Ozzy8690

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ozzy
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
85
Reaction score
75
Location
SoCal
Car(s)
14’ Turbo Ultramarine FRS, 2020 Downshift Blue Supra 3.0 premium
Question for those that may be considering purchasing a flash tune...

Is there anyway to find out if your Supra has had an ECU update done? I understand that for those who purchased their Supra after Nov there is a very good chance an update was done during prep and your ECU is locked out from using Ecutek, BM3, and MHD tunes...

Has any progress been made to gain access to ECU for flash through OBDII for those that have their ECU's locked....


I purchased my Supra in Jan and flashed BM3 two weeks ago with no problem.
 

Dick

Member
First Name
Dick
Joined
Jul 10, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
21
Location
Texas
Car(s)
Supra
Question for those that may be considering purchasing a flash tune...

Is there anyway to find out if your Supra has had an ECU update done? I understand that for those who purchased their Supra after Nov there is a very good chance an update was done during prep and your ECU is locked out from using Ecutek, BM3, and MHD tunes...

Has any progress been made to gain access to ECU for flash through OBDII for those that have their ECU's locked....
Where have you seen information about recent updates locking the ECU? There was a post in the MHD thread that speculated the ECU had been locked but it was just user error. I also recall another post about the dealer updating/resetting someone’s ECU and them losing their tune but again, no mention of it being relocked. Other than that, no mention of it here or in any a90 groups that I’ve seen.
 

tadda

Well-Known Member
First Name
Tom
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
989
Reaction score
1,340
Location
Arizona
Car(s)
2020 Supra 3.0 Premium
Vehicle Showcase
1
Where have you seen information about recent updates locking the ECU? There was a post in the MHD thread that speculated the ECU had been locked but it was just user error. I also recall another post about the dealer updating/resetting someone’s ECU and them losing their tune but again, no mention of it being relocked. Other than that, no mention of it here or in any a90 groups that I’ve seen.
There has been recent posts on a few A90 Facebook groups by tuners using Ecutek, BM3, and MHD...Apparently, the latest OE ECU updates lock out any tune flashes done through OBDII port...There were a couple of folks that recently took their tuned vehicles into service where service flashed an ECU update and now they can not reflash their tunes back...Tuners are current trying to do a work around to open OBDII ports again...
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
887
Reaction score
1,077
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Yes, newer updates have close the hole to OBD2 flashing. These need to be bench flash first until OBD2 flashing exploit is found again on the newer locked ROMs
 

XtremeMaC

Well-Known Member
First Name
MaC
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
1,466
Reaction score
1,437
Location
_________ SE Michigan, USA
Car(s)
2020 Supra
I can't, for the life of me, understand the motivation behind this for a supposedly "tune friendly" platform.. what dumbfuck juice are they drinking these days :banghead::doh:
 

Waferz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
379
Reaction score
302
Location
Louisiana
Car(s)
2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
Yes, newer updates have close the hole to OBD2 flashing. These need to be bench flash first until OBD2 flashing exploit is found again on the newer locked ROMs
Something like this seems like a MUST for anyone who is/wants to be tuned and still makes trips to the dealer. Have any experience with it?
https://www.bem-auto.com/product/universal-tune-saver/4

And also, is MHD the only option to check DME version, or can I use Ecutek for that as well?
 
Last edited:

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
887
Reaction score
1,077
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
I can't, for the life of me, understand the motivation behind this for a supposedly "tune friendly" platform.. what dumbfuck juice are they drinking these days :banghead::doh:

I mean, it is tune friendly. you can't really expect them give access without a little fight. Remember they still need to protect their investment a bit.
Something like this seems like a MUST for anyone who is/wants to be tuned and still makes trips to the dealer. Have any experience with it?
https://www.bem-auto.com/product/universal-tune-saver/4

And also, is MHD the only option to check DME version, or can I use Ecutek for that as well?

Any flash tool can check it. As long as it gives you the rom id.
 

Nocturnal LE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Daniel
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
271
Reaction score
156
Location
Cleveland, OH
Car(s)
2020 Supra LE
I have the rearview camera recall on my car - I'm guessing I should ignore this if I want to flash my ECU?
 
Advertisement

 
Advertisement
Top