decodeddiesel's 2020 A90 DD to weekend fun car journey

decodeddiesel

First Name
Wes
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2020 Supra, 2016 VW Tiguan, 2007 Cayman
In September of 2019 I went to my local Toyota dealership to look at the new Supra. At the time I was daily driving a Volvo V60 Polestar and had a 987.1 Cayman as my weekend/fun car. I am a mechanical engineer, and I admit, I have some pretty severe OCD about some things. When I read that the performance benchmark of the new Supra was the Cayman platform I went from being curious about the new Supra to downright interested and the OCD kicked in.

The local dealer had a red LE on the showroom floor. I was impressed, although skeptical about the transmission. I asked about a test drive and although I showed up in a car that was close in value to the Supra (my Polestar) the pinky-ring-wearing salesman guy with too much hair product laughed at me. We spoke a little and I ended up putting down a deposit on a Turbulence Grey 3.0 Premium, fully optioned, with CF mirror caps (not a fan, but whatever) that was inbound to the dealer. Three weeks later they get the car, and when I come in to test drive and purchase it they try to convince me that I was in a bidding war with another customer. I told them he could have it and walked. Turns out they lied.

555 days later the car had sat on the dealership showroom and had about 300 "demo" miles on it. I went back in looking for a deal. This was in March 2021 and now they needed to get it off of the lot. After some wheeling and dealing and me walking away initially, they agreed to a purchase price of $48k.

Obligatory crappy cell phone shot the day I brought her home:

1677702953971.jpeg