Follow-up post for my grad school project

romanLegion9574

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2021 Toyota Supra 3.0, 2023 Toyota GRC Core
This is a follow-up to my other thread on steering wheel feedback.

I'd appreciate some evaluation on my prototype based on the feedback from my survey in that thread, as well as several opinions.

Link to the evaluation survey (again, I'm not recording any information here, and I'm not affiliated with Toyota or BMW in any way; this is just for my grad school final project). Thanks in advance!

Prototype of the new steering wheel for reference, and the link is also in the survey as well:
Steering-Wheel-redesign.png

Edit -- Stock button layout for reference:
mk5-supra-stock-steering-wheel-buttons.jpeg

DISCLAIMER: I'm not an artist, and the diagram tool I used was for software architecture, so the shapes aren't perfect. I'm looking for feedback on the functionality of the wheel.
Sponsored

Last edited:

XtremeMaC

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2020 Supra
if it helps, I'm really happy with the below steering wheel (minus the M buttons, as I cheaped out)
You can easily skip/ next/prev.
Left side is pretty much reserved for cruise control.
Mode: Can change the cruise control mode (just hold speed, dynamic, full auto below 40mph & in traffic)
scroll adjusts speed up/down. no click
distance buttons work as buttons.

On the right are audio/phone/nav/etc.
Right/left arrows are actual buttons
scroll is clickable
mid button brings source menu.

heated str whl button.

-x5_m-sportsactivityvehicle-11085-21240459-18-1024.jpg

source: https://www.penskeluxury.com/detail..._activity_vehicle-used-5ymju0c06n9j78770.html

comparison.png

comparison - Copy.png

OP
OP
romanLegion9574

romanLegion9574

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
Bumping this back up so I can get some more evaluation feedback. TIA!

B58_ hwAyaq

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2020 Supra (sold), 2023 F150 Tremor