Question about track width effects on handling

BadOne

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2021 Toyota Supra A91 Edition (Refraction Blue)
Assuming the only changes to the Supra are the following:

Wheels: Wider with greater offset
Front: 19x9.5 Offset +22
Rear: 19x10.5 Offset +35

Tires: Same type as stock (Michelin Pilot Sport 4S), but wider
Front: 265
Rear: 285

What effect should this have on handling? I'm assuming that since this will increase the front track width by a greater factor than the rear, the net effect will be less oversteer.

I'm also curious about what effect the wider track width should have on the suspension. I'm guessing that it will have less body roll due to the increased roll resistance, but the wheels will be further from the car so the net effect might be more body roll with a longer lever arm.

I'm fairly new to all of this and am trying to get a grasp of the subject.
Sponsored

2Cool

First Name
Ian
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2021 GR Supra Premium 3.0
Answering from a couple years of autocross and NASA HPDE events viewpoint, plus Google-fu.

Increasing track width lowers weight transfer, increasing handling. Increasing the front more will lead to more oversteer... which we already have a heaping helping of in our cars. You can make it up some with additional tread width in the back, or a stiffer rear swaybar, or spacers.

Keep in mind that you will give up daily driving comfort an wider tires, stiffer sways, springs, etc.

1slow_mk5

First Name
JC
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
A90 Supra. S2000. 328i
More rear sway = more oversteer not less all other things equal.

Xxyion

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
A91 Refraction Blue, 05' S2000