Suprasaiyansg

First Name
Sun Guang
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
GR Supra
Hi Everyone,

I know this may sound a bit counter-intuitive but I'm considering to use a thicker tyre for my Supra and because I'm no expert in this matter, I was wondering if any kind soul could give me their opinion on this.

The stock PSS tyres are 255/35 (Front) 275/35 (Rear). I wanted to switch to 255/45 (Front) and 275/45 (Rear) to slightly increase my ground clearance.

My reasons for doing is because the usual roads that I drive is a pain in the ass and I've been scrapping the front bumper too frequent and it is getting slightly annoying (trust me I go real slow like 5kmph LOL, some of the slopes are just too steep).

I want to know any possible complications that may affect the stock setup. I understand that the handling will be slightly affected but I'm alright with that since its more of a daily cruiser for me, I will not track this setup anyways.

Thanks for your time! Appreciate any helpful comments.
Sponsored

Last edited:

MA617M

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
lots
All the safety systems will be calibrated for the stock wheel + tyre size, with a little error.

Changing the profile that much will most likely upset the ECU and potentially throw error codes.

Probably worth looking up if anyone has done similar in a BMW and what their results were.

Dannyvandelft

First Name
Danny
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
Ordered A91 edition Supra
You can do that, but throw on a set of 18 inch wheels. If you have 255/35/19 up front, you can go to a 255/40/18 and have thicker tires while keeping the circumference identical.

OP
OP

Suprasaiyansg

First Name
Sun Guang
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
GR Supra
You can do that, but throw on a set of 18 inch wheels. If you have 255/35/19 up front, you can go to a 255/40/18 and have thicker tires while keeping the circumference identical.
Hi Danny, my goal here is to increase the ground clearance of the car by raising the height of the wheels.