Turbo lag from Hybrid 4Runner i-Force Max engine?

Scott2373

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 F150, 2018 Wrangler Sahara JLU
I'm curious to know if the Hybrid part of the engine will kick in immediately upon acceleration, thus potentially eliminating turbo lag. I'm new to all this hybrid stuff, so I don't know exactly how it works. All I know is that the lag is atrocious with my 2018 F150 2.7L TT. I'm hoping the electric motor will take over while the turbos are spooling. If this is the case, then I'm absolutely going with the Hybrid!

Old Spice

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
X3 currently
We'll have real world test-drive answers to the turbo lag question when the 2024 Tacoma hybrid first drive reviews are posted on April 23.

But it sounds like it from this video describing the i-Force Max Hybrid engine

OP
OP
Scott2373

Scott2373

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I watched that exact video before I posted the question. Honestly, I would like to interpret the part about the electric motor, "...supplementing the ICE at points when it may not be at it's peak output", as an answer to my question, but it's still quite vague. But, you're correct. When the test drive reviews are released, I guess we'll have a real answer.

OP
OP
Scott2373

Scott2373

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Why did the title of my thread change and who changed it?

Bronconomore

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Sport
Why did the title of my thread change and who changed it?
I would say the Administrator as I had one change as well. It did clean up my title as I wasn’t clear on my message, I was lazy and it was early morning hours as well.

JIMIPRO

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
07 4R V8, 24 4Runner TRD Pro, 67 Dodge R/T