Piggyback vs ECU Tune...Help a person decide

Discussion in 'DME / ECU Software Tuning' started by twarner776, Sep 6, 2019.

1. twarner776

twarner776 Well-Known Member

First Name:
    Travis
    Car(s):
    Supra LE, Audi A6
    Liked:
    Ok in need of some help and overall guidance. I know this has been discussed on other forums but not a lot of info on the Supra in general.

In full disclosure in previous cars etc tuning hasn't really been on my radar so therefore its not something i have a lot of general knowledge on. As I mentioned in a earlier post im getting ready to start my 1st mods on the Supra which include a downpipe and tune. The downpipe will be Titan but im a little lost on where to go with the tune. Right now sitting between the Titan piggyback or waiting on MHD or bootmod3. I know MHD is in beta.

Are there advantages to one vs the other? Would you be comfortable getting in on a beta of MHD or bootmod if you could? I am a little concered with being a new platform on the warranty side of things but the smile may be worth it.

2. lsdlsd88

lsdlsd88 New Member

Car(s):
    MX-5 mk1, Celica mk7
    Liked:
    if you have ANY concerns about warranty (meaning you can't afford to pay the bill for fixing it) go with a module.

it's no guarantee that it will NOT be detected (even after you take it off, due to FASTA data), but it's your best shot.

being a bmw something in the car WILL eventually go wrong, be prepared to play it safe :)

XtremeMaC, A70TTR and RRKnight like this.
  3. RRKnight

RRKnight Well-Known Member

First Name:
    Rocky
    Car(s):
    Lexus NCX200T F Sport
    Liked:
    I'm going to start with a downpipe for now until more research and test are done with the tunes before jumping in. I just might wait until warranty period to be over first. Not in a rush to boost high horsepower on this car. It has plenty for my daily drive already.

Verdi likes this.
  4. Subzero05

Subzero05 Member

Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Liked: