Advertisement

XHP transmission flash?

Discussion in 'DME / ECU Software Tuning' started by larrymz3, Nov 5, 2019.

  1. TURBOlence

    TURBOlence Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Location:
    LA
    Posts:
    80
    Liked:
    51
    How do I know if I have the new DME? Planning on getting bootmod3 maybe after my break in.
     
  2. satindragon

    satindragon Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    MKV Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts:
    81
    Liked:
    91
    If you start the agent and have it read your DME, it will print the software versions. If yours match the ones below then, you won't be able to unlock it over OBD2.

    Screen Shot 2020-03-02 at 9.26.21 PM.png
     
    TURBOlence likes this.
  3. TURBOlence

    TURBOlence Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Location:
    LA
    Posts:
    80
    Liked:
    51
    I have to get bootmod3 first to find out the software version I have? So if I have the new software version that means I won’t be able to change tunes anytime I want because I won’t be able to unlock it? New to this, I don’t want to buy yet if I have to go to a tuner every time I want to change settings.
     
  4. Waferz

    Waferz Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Posts:
    374
    Liked:
    262
    I’m guessing all LE owners are safe to assume we have the old DME?
     
  5. satindragon

    satindragon Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    MKV Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts:
    81
    Liked:
    91
    You should be ok as long as you haven't gone to the dealership and got the most recent update. I ended up getting mine bench unlocked locally when I got tuned.
     
    TURBOlence likes this.
  6. Waferz

    Waferz Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Posts:
    374
    Liked:
    262
    #21 Mar 8, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2020
    Is this something mandatory by dealers? I had to bring my car back to have nav activated and I have a few free oil changes..... should I avoid these? And is there an easy way to check if it has been updated!

    Car was purchased 12/18/20 and nav work done around Christmas time I believe, maybe a little after.
     
  7. TURBOlence

    TURBOlence Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Location:
    LA
    Posts:
    80
    Liked:
    51
    Well this sucks! I had to bring my car to the dealer for a chassis error on Feb. So you said you had it bench unlocked, so what if you need to bring the car to the dealership for maintenance? Will they lock it back? So then, do you have to go back to the tuning shop to have it unlocked again? I want bootmod3, but I'm glad i came across this thread.
     
  8. satindragon

    satindragon Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    MKV Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts:
    81
    Liked:
    91
    The shop where I had the tuning done recommended against going to the dealership. They weren't sure what Toyota's instructions are, but BMW will lock the ECU/DME if you take it in for service. At least that's what the latest guidance is. Not worth the headache to me to have to go back to the shop to have the tune redone so I'll just go elsewhere for oil changes.
     
    Cs191707, Jabba and TURBOlence like this.
  9. TURBOlence

    TURBOlence Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Location:
    LA
    Posts:
    80
    Liked:
    51

    I appreciate you taking your time to answer my noob questions! :respect: One last thing, So are you now able to
    switch tunes yourself with bootmod3 since your DME is unlocked?
     
  10. satindragon

    satindragon Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    MKV Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts:
    81
    Liked:
    91
    The shop that tuned my car doesn't use bootmod3. They used their own flashing software. Right now I'm running the calibration they did along with a JB4 Map 6 with a 2 psi boost adder. From solely a boost level standpoint their tune coupled with JB4 is about equivalent to the boost your engine would see with a JB4 on Map 3.

    With the custom DME tune, power delivery is noticeably smoother and the increased torque is noticeable even during part throttle driving due to additional timing, vanos, and wastegate duty cycle changes. On JB4 alone, I really felt the biggest difference when past ~70% pedal. The DME flash makes the car more responsive and faster everywhere.

    Realistically if you're not planning on doing a turbo swap, I would get a DME flash and pair it with a JB4. That way should you decide to run E30 - E40, it's easy to add a bit more boost to take advantage of it. You get the convenience of changing maps on the fly without having to re-flash the car each time. JB4 logging is also really easy to use so there's that as well.

    On a weird but cool note, the JB4 app allows you to be connected to the JB4 AND iDrive simultaneously without issue. I can log and listen to music with a problem. The other platforms (bootmod3, mhd, etc) probably do the same thing. I feel spoiled because when I ran Syvecs on my previous car, it was one or the other. You either got live guages or bluetooth audio; not both.

    To me it's the best of both worlds.
     
    TURBOlence likes this.
  11. Waferz

    Waferz Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Posts:
    374
    Liked:
    262
    So is there a specific month these DME updates came out or are we basically stuck with buying tuners and guessing?
     
  12. satindragon

    satindragon Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    MKV Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts:
    81
    Liked:
    91
    I believe it was the November update. If you bought a car after then AND the dealership updated the firmware before selling, you likely have a locked DME.
     
  13. jtsang25

    jtsang25 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2009 BMW 135i, 2020 Toyota GR Supra
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Canada
    Posts:
    666
    Liked:
    517
    Chances are you got the update. The update was apart of a recall for the brightness/screen black out issue.
     
  14. Waferz

    Waferz Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Posts:
    374
    Liked:
    262
    I don’t think I got the screen brightness update (unless it didn’t do much) because I had to use BimmerCode to be able to see it lol


    Does flashing with BM3 secure your car from being updated or is going to the dealer an all around no go with this installed?
     
  15. satindragon

    satindragon Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    MKV Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts:
    81
    Liked:
    91
    If you have BM3 installed and there's a reason for them to update the ECU, they'll overwrite your BM3 tune and lock the ECU. From what I've been told by a local tuner, the instructions to BMW dealers is to lock the ECU. Not sure if Toyota is doing the same thing.
     
    Waferz likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...