8HP51 DIY Rebuild Inquiry

ILOVEBMWENGINEERING

First Name
Silly Guy
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
G22 M440 , G20 M340
I have found a complete 8HP51 (15k miles) locally out of a 2021 GR Supra for 1k with torque converter and valve body. Seller claims car had a error on the dash and sometimes gets stuck in second gear (could it be first gear lockout?) and sometimes performed normally. No metal shavings and clean oil. I am a hobbyist and I love to build and repair for fun. I have worked on plenty new BMW's but never opened one up. Regardless I am fearless, I would love to rebuild this transmission to keep me busy, like I said this will be for fun. I have a X-Drive M440i which is a lease, and I can already imagine how many other things I'd have to change to turn my car rwd, but that's not my goal. I would like to learn something and maybe this will work out or maybe I'll break everything and it'll never go back together but I won't be too upset. The reasoning for this post is to see if anyone has any info that would be helpful. I have a 3000 something page 2020 GR Supra service manual, I guess it might be enough. I would really love a service manual from ZF itself or perhaps anyone else has personal experience? I wish puredrivetrain or another rebuilder would share the steps but I know obviously that would defeat the purpose of their business. I will buy all the special service tools and pretty much tear this thing down to nothing and rebuild and replace whatever I see could be the issue. My friend tells me there is some crazy tools that plug into the transmission so I can test it without finding a friend car to bother and throw this in. I will most likely replace the clutch packs just for the hell of it, even though on my M340 I had clutch slipping issues from running 600whp, and it would never lock me in a gear, so I don't think its that. Can someone tell me if I'm being outrageous for thinking about attempting this, being a unofficial, weekend mechanic for my friend