Fullscreen Apple Carplay

Discussion in 'Electronics, Audio, NAV, Communications' started by CantEven_Supra, Oct 10, 2019.

  1. CantEven_Supra

    CantEven_Supra Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2016 Cayman GT4
    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    85
    Liked:
    210
    Has anyone attempted or looked into coding or tweaking to get full screen Apple CarPlay?

    I know it’s possible on BMW models With an e sys cable. Just wasn’t sure how different the coding is for the Supra.
     
    GirlRepellent likes this.
  2. CarGuy11

    CarGuy11 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra Prem/Assist Blue, 2016 C7 Corvette Z51, 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Posts:
    106
    Liked:
    46
    I question why you want this? The split screen is great! Waze on left, media on right!
     
    XtremeMaC likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    CantEven_Supra

    CantEven_Supra Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2016 Cayman GT4
    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    85
    Liked:
    210
    1. I don’t like clutter. I like a clean simple look heh
    2. My media is usually just streaming pandora or Spotify so once I choose what genre I feel like I pretty much don’t use my media screen u less to switch songs which that will show up on the hud or center display and use the steering wheel
    3. Fullscreen Apple maps or Fullscreen waze is pretty awesome too
     
    084runnerltd and GirlRepellent like this.
  4. GirlRepellent

    GirlRepellent Active Member

    Car(s):
    A90 Supra
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Location:
    Philly
    Posts:
    27
    Liked:
    23
    Yeah, I agree. Full screen car play would be preferred. I just updated to ios13 and it was like 3 or 4 things segmented on the screen. I just want GPS! Way too much.
     
    Haros and 084runnerltd like this.
  5. CarGuy11

    CarGuy11 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra Prem/Assist Blue, 2016 C7 Corvette Z51, 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Posts:
    106
    Liked:
    46
    Keep in mind you can also use the right side to display an additional view of factory NAV if you don't want media.
     
  6. GirlRepellent

    GirlRepellent Active Member

    Car(s):
    A90 Supra
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Location:
    Philly
    Posts:
    27
    Liked:
    23
    Yeah, but I like google maps. Not really a huge deal but if it could be coded, I would totally do it.
     
    Haros and 084runnerltd like this.
  7. F1nest11

    F1nest11 Active Member

    Car(s):
    20 Ren Red 2.0 Premium, 13 Nissan GT-R, 07 Honda Accord
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Posts:
    39
    Liked:
    33
    Half screen waze is pretty annoying on carplay. I've been in a car with android auto and its so much better
     
    Haros likes this.
  8. angrytoddler

    angrytoddler Active Member

    First Name:
    Steve
    Car(s):
    Red LE Supra MKV, Toyota FJ Cruiser, Ford Explorer Sport
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Posts:
    32
    Liked:
    25
    Half Vast and F1nest11 like this.
  9. F1nest11

    F1nest11 Active Member

    Car(s):
    20 Ren Red 2.0 Premium, 13 Nissan GT-R, 07 Honda Accord
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Posts:
    39
    Liked:
    33
    keep us posted man!
     
  10. Haros

    Haros Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    Two feet
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Canada
    Posts:
    143
    Liked:
    205
    Toyota is finally getting android auto 2020...
    you guys think the Supra will be limited to half view apple car play because it’s a BMW unit?

    unfortunately I’m thinking that will be the case.
     
  11. thedude

    thedude Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Absolute Zero 3.0 Premium
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Posts:
    113
    Liked:
    73
    Same exact split in my sister’s X5, so I’d say that’s the likely reason.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    CantEven_Supra

    CantEven_Supra Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2016 Cayman GT4
    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    85
    Liked:
    210
    it's the exact same in pretty much all idrive (except the most recent version) that the carplay is split but there is a fix for sure on the bmw side with online coders being able to tweak the code and make car play full screen.

    I know Toyota has changed the coding themselves to make all "BMW" say Toyota and model to say supra etc etc etc. but is the coding that different that carplay can't be coded to fullscreen?

    So far I have only inquired about it to one person (since I don't have the car yet I haven't really been super proactive) and he said he tried but it wasn't possible with the Toyota....so either I find that hard to believe, or the coding must be THAT different.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...