Advertisement

JB4

Discussion in 'DME / ECU Software Tuning' started by Thatguyw_stat, Sep 1, 2019.

  1. LS3Twins

    LS3Twins Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Posts:
    291
    Liked:
    452
    I wanted to have the option of monitoring my temps and having access to the sensors on my phone in real time. I'm working on heat exchanger upgrades and need to constantly monitor IAT's and coolant temp in different conditions.

    I will probably end up getting a MHD back end flash tune after the turbo upgrade but use the JB4 for datalogging and you can still make changes after the flash with the JB4.
     
  2. larrymz3

    larrymz3 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Posts:
    304
    Liked:
    127
    Yep, MHD is on my list now as well. I reached out to them this morning to see if they had the A90 flash available yet.

    As a sidenote, Bootmod told me that my dme would likely have to be bench flashed to unlock first since it's not a LE. Apparently only the LE's have unlocked dme's. I'm wondering if MHD will also require a bench unlock.
     
  3. LS3Twins

    LS3Twins Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Posts:
    291
    Liked:
    452
    MHD does not have the flash available yet but it's coming soon. I reached out to them 2-3 weeks ago and they sent me the software and have been troubleshooting with them to get it to work. As soon as I have some forward movement I will post the results. The great thing with this chassis is that we will have tons of options available to us and plenty of resources after some time.
     
  4. Anunez0283

    Anunez0283 Member

    First Name:
    Alfred
    Car(s):
    2020 supra , 2016 focus RS , 2018 wrx
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Location:
    Miami
    Posts:
    6
    Liked:
    2
    I’m currently stock running 93 octane which map should I be using? And what map should be used with downpipe 93 oct?

    79B6291F-D4B2-4EC3-BBF0-332301309EAB.jpeg
     
  5. SCCA Racer#75

    SCCA Racer#75 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Dave`
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra, 2018 ZL1 1LE
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Location:
    AZ
    Posts:
    78
    Liked:
    45
    I like the jb4 for ease of installation, tuning, Bluetooth mobile app, and undetectable to dealer vs a flash.

    But I've heard great things about BM3, however with the rumors about ecu lockout from dealer, piggy back bypasses that fear.

    Best Regards,
    Dave
     
    084runnerltd likes this.
  6. SCCA Racer#75

    SCCA Racer#75 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Dave`
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra, 2018 ZL1 1LE
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Location:
    AZ
    Posts:
    78
    Liked:
    45
    You can safely run map 1 or 2 with 93. However it is temp dependent, my car was quicker on map 1 & 95 octane than map 2 or 3 because it was a100 degrees plus out, and pulled too much timing back out, even though it was making more boost.

    Best Regards,
    Dave
     
    LS3Twins likes this.
  7. Subzero05

    Subzero05 Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Location:
    Florida
    Posts:
    6
    Liked:
    2
    Piggy back only for me because I don’t want any warranty issues with a flash .
     
    084runnerltd likes this.
  8. LS3Twins

    LS3Twins Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Posts:
    291
    Liked:
    452
    I keep mine on Map 3 for 93 octane with catless downpipe which does make more power and if your EGT's get too high it will safely pull back timing to compensate like SCCA Racer was saying.

    This is what mine made on the dyno on 93

    333whp 385tq bone stock
    356whp 441tq Map 1 and Intake
    391whp 468tq Map 3 and Intake
    424whp 482tq Map 3, Intake and Catless Downpipe

    Here are the maps for reference:

    Map Guide as of v11 firmware:

    Map0: Stock tuning, fully disable JB4
    Map1: Additive map with peak of 3psi over stock added (91 octane)
    Map2: Additive map with peak of 4psi over stock added (91-93 octane)
    Map3: Additive map with peak of 6psi over stock added (93+ octane)
    Map4: VALET / Low Boost Map
    Map5: Additive map with peak of 6psi over stock added & more aggressive timing profile for higher octane fuel (experimental, 93+ octane, bolt on modifications)
    Map6: Custom tuning map allowing both additive (below 10psi) and absolute (above 10psi) targeting
    Map7: WMI map (boost varies based on WMI additive and map settings)
     
    meganrenee, Cycletech, Jabba and 2 others like this.
  9. Toyotawild

    Toyotawild Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Zach
    Car(s):
    07 Toyota Tundra supercharged, 03 Acura cls-6
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Location:
    Richland wa
    Posts:
    378
    Liked:
    255
    Dynojet? And have you logged map 5?
     
  10. Anunez0283

    Anunez0283 Member

    First Name:
    Alfred
    Car(s):
    2020 supra , 2016 focus RS , 2018 wrx
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Location:
    Miami
    Posts:
    6
    Liked:
    2
    Wondering if you can help so I got the titanmotor sports downpipe with 02 spacer plus JB4 with map 3 on 93 oct. I’m getting check engine light and it’s throw the codes below. When I try to clear with Jb4 nothing happens.. help please

    870F8F6A-778C-4C38-A06F-222277FD03B6.jpeg
     
  11. SCCA Racer#75

    SCCA Racer#75 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Dave`
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra, 2018 ZL1 1LE
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Location:
    AZ
    Posts:
    78
    Liked:
    45
    I don't have experience with a downpipe. However, seeing it mentioning rear 02 disconnected, seems like possibly it was not plugged back in after the swap?

    Best regards,
    Dave
     
  12. larrymz3

    larrymz3 Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 Supra
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Posts:
    304
    Liked:
    127
    I think the sensor was not plugged back in. Which o2 spacer did you use?
     
  13. LS3Twins

    LS3Twins Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Posts:
    291
    Liked:
    452
    Sorry I was not able to reply back sooner but just now seeing this. First make sure that you are indeed clearing codes in diagnostic mode on the Supra first. If you are not sure how to get it in diagnostic mode I'll explain it. If you already know this then just ignore it.

    • Unlock and get in and close doors (obviously). Don't touch the pedals and press the ignition switch 3 times within a second and do not hold it down. The dash will light up and the dash will say diagnostic mode in like 3-4 seconds. Now you are ready to pull codes.
    I would definitely make sure all of your connections have clicked in. There are only 2 places to connect on the engine side but maybe disconnect and re-connect making sure they click in place and lock.This sounds like a connector somewhere else didn't get hooked back up from your downpipe install and not anything having to do with the JB4.

    • I am not using the 02 spacer so not sure about that portion.
    • The 2 codes CD990E and CD990B are normal and are from Toyota.
    • I would go back over your connections on the install but the JB4 connections are only 2 places in the engine bay.
    • Also put the JB4 on Map 0 until you get your issues sorted out. On Map 0 it is turned off and wouldn't be making any changes anyway.
    It might be helpful if you post a video of your process trying to clear the codes so I can help figure out if you might be missing something. Let me know and I'll be happy to help.
     
  14. LS3Twins

    LS3Twins Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ryan
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Posts:
    291
    Liked:
    452
    Yes Dynojet and I have good logs on Map 5 with 100 octane. I sent them to Terry and he Ok'd them.
     
  15. AustinGRSupra

    AustinGRSupra Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    2020 GR Supra
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Posts:
    285
    Liked:
    336
    I’m liking the JB4 numbers....

     
    084runnerltd likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...