Seeking more info on JB4 Map 6 tuning

ColonelAdama

First Name
Adam
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2023 Absolute Zero Supra 3.0 Premium MT, 2015 GTI
I've seen repeatedly on these forums that everyone has their Map 6 settings dialed in by Jesse for ~$500 or so. I found this rather unusual just coming from a MK7 GTI that I've been running Map 6 for 7+ years (never had an issue, even at 26+ psi stock turbo e30). I was able to dial it in myself after doing my research on the forums, and I can't really see the reason why the Supra would be any different. (educate me if it is) I guess GTI forum users are more willing to share their Map 6 settings/supporting mods. (No, its not tune-theft. The JB4 was designed to be user-tuned, I think it's wild that we try to gatekeep the performance of fellow enthusiasts)

Setting up Map 6 isn't rocket science, and it's no doubt a cake-walk compared to proper tuning.

My method on the GTI was:
  1. Determine the boost curve from a base map (ie. Map 1 or Map 2). Usually 4-5psi across the board with some tapering on both ends. This can be done by datalogging on those maps and looking at "boost target"
  2. Bump up from the whole Map1/2 curve in small increments (ie. 0.5 psi or so) at a time
  3. Data log a 3rd/4th gear pull after every change (~2.5k rpm to redline). Watch for timing corrections in any of the cylinders. If any corrections observed, dial back down the boost around that RPM and log again. Do this in hot weather if possible to create a worst case scenario for IATs. If its winter, start data-logging again as weather starts to warm up and observe for IATs and timing corrections. Data-logging every season is ideal.
  4. If you don't really care about a linear power band, you can usually bump up the boost more in the RPM ranges where the turbo is in peak efficiency (GTI was 3-5k rpm)