Supra Coding Step By Step

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
This thread was very helpfull, thanks all!

what app do you guys use to read out troublecodes and reset them?

i have carly for BMW from previous cars but unsure if this will work.

Bought Bimmercode for the Supra coding but this doesnt read trouble codes?
There are a handful of apps (android/ios) which will work with most OBDII adapters for diagnosis.




Advertisement


 

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
I, too, have been rummaging around the bimmercode world. Try as I might, though, I've yet to find any coding for the instrument cluster dim/bright. In sunny AZ, its always hard to read for some strange reason. I've looked in BMW coding forums and even contacted Bimmercode without success.

I've made lots of changes with Bimmercode (even tried the turn signals in HUD but it didn't work) and they're great to have. To me, this aspect of Supra ownership is the most important now for my daily ride.
 

30MilesOffshore

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Posts
346
Reaction score
248
Location
Charlotte, NC
Car(s)
2020 Supra
I, too, have been rummaging around the bimmercode world. Try as I might, though, I've yet to find any coding for the instrument cluster dim/bright. In sunny AZ, its always hard to read for some strange reason. I've looked in BMW coding forums and even contacted Bimmercode without success.

I've made lots of changes with Bimmercode (even tried the turn signals in HUD but it didn't work) and they're great to have. To me, this aspect of Supra ownership is the most important now for my daily ride.
Have you tried these steps:

3- Press START on the car three times in quick succession
4- start bimmercode app and connect and select BMW for car
5- select BMW Z4 (G29)
6- select Headunit
7- select Expert Mode at top
8- select 3005 DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG
9- scroll WAY down and select DIM_VARIANT
10- change setting from NEW to OLD 10- click OK.
11- Then backup on screens to the HEADUnit ECU screen.
12- select CODE at top right. Accept risk and let it do its thing.
13- This will enable the Brightness control to be used during Daytime. It will now say Brightness versus Brightness during Nighttime.
14- t will wipe out the 8 hot keys so you will need to remember what you set them to. If the dealer ever does a ECU flash you will have to redo this

 

30MilesOffshore

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Posts
346
Reaction score
248
Location
Charlotte, NC
Car(s)
2020 Supra
This thread was very helpfull, thanks all!

what app do you guys use to read out troublecodes and reset them?

i have carly for BMW from previous cars but unsure if this will work.

Bought Bimmercode for the Supra coding but this doesnt read trouble codes?
Correct. Bimmercode will not read any ECU codes. I use Torque to read codes and to also access other data. You can also overlay the data onto video with it too. Really nice if your running any track events.
 

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
Have you tried these steps:

3- Press START on the car three times in quick succession
4- start bimmercode app and connect and select BMW for car
5- select BMW Z4 (G29)
6- select Headunit
7- select Expert Mode at top
8- select 3005 DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG
9- scroll WAY down and select DIM_VARIANT
10- change setting from NEW to OLD 10- click OK.
11- Then backup on screens to the HEADUnit ECU screen.
12- select CODE at top right. Accept risk and let it do its thing.
13- This will enable the Brightness control to be used during Daytime. It will now say Brightness versus Brightness during Nighttime.
14- t will wipe out the 8 hot keys so you will need to remember what you set them to. If the dealer ever does a ECU flash you will have to redo this

Thats for the headunit.

I want one for the instrument cluster, but thanks anyway.
 

30MilesOffshore

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Posts
346
Reaction score
248
Location
Charlotte, NC
Car(s)
2020 Supra
@akasonny Even with the dimmer all the way up, it's still hard to see the instrument cluster? Next time I'm in Bimmercode, I will see what I can find.

Do you have window tint? I have mild tint and it made a huge difference in the cabin.

20190114_02_05.jpg
 

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
The dealership installed tinting before I even saw the car. Its not bad...considering AZ sun. I don't think thats my problem as several others have voiced concerns for the same problem.

Now I'm wishing I'd taken German vs Spanish way back when...expert mode is all in German.
 

Kato

Active Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Posts
44
Reaction score
19
Location
Southern AZ
Car(s)
2018 Tacoma TRD Sport, 2020 GR Supra Phantom
I tried the brightness (dimness) coding this weekend and it seemed to work afterwards. Then the next day i was driving the car, it acted like I never changed anything. The adjustment scroll wheel on the dash does nothing when I adjusted it and the screen was back to it's own mind. Has anyone had this happened? I won't be able to try this again until this weekend. But just incase someone has this experience or know that I did something wrong please reply (????)

I used OBD Link MX with Bimmercode (full version). Was able to change Auto Start/Stop behavior so I at least got that far.

One curious thing - does each change have to be made separately, i.e. can't combine several things in one "coding" step?
 

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
I tried the brightness (dimness) coding this weekend and it seemed to work afterwards. Then the next day i was driving the car, it acted like I never changed anything. The adjustment scroll wheel on the dash does nothing when I adjusted it and the screen was back to it's own mind. Has anyone had this happened? I won't be able to try this again until this weekend. But just incase someone has this experience or know that I did something wrong please reply (????)

I used OBD Link MX with Bimmercode (full version). Was able to change Auto Start/Stop behavior so I at least got that far.

One curious thing - does each change have to be made separately, i.e. can't combine several things in one "coding" step?
Which brightness were you attempting to change? The head unit?
 

30MilesOffshore

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Posts
346
Reaction score
248
Location
Charlotte, NC
Car(s)
2020 Supra
Yes. The head unit. The instrument cluster brightness is fine for me.
That is correct, when you code the headunit brightness it disables the brightness control for the instrument cluster panel. I think the guy mentioned it in the video posted above. I did not code for this because of that reason. I found that just using window tint resolved any brightness issues for me and I'm only at 45% tint.
 

tadda

Well-Known Member
First Name
Tom
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Posts
842
Reaction score
1,000
Location
Arizona
Car(s)
2020 Supra 3.0 Premium
Vehicle Showcase
1
I coded the head unit brightness awhile ago as it was way too dim and not visible during the day....I'm still able to control both head unit and cluster display brightness using the thumbwheel control...Coding the headunit had no impact on brightness of the instrument cluster which I found to be sufficiently bright even during the day...

That said, I keep the thumbwheel control at max and never feel the need to change the settings for both day and night driving....

I also have 35% window tint...
 

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
That is correct, when you code the headunit brightness it disables the brightness control for the instrument cluster panel. I think the guy mentioned it in the video posted above. I did not code for this because of that reason. I found that just using window tint resolved any brightness issues for me and I'm only at 45% tint.
Not so. Changing the code in the head unit simply provides for a brightness control located on the headunit and accessible via the DISPLAY settings. It does not disable the instrument cluster brightness control.

There is, also, coding which isolates/de-couples the cluster from the headunit thereby allowing for independent brightness of the cluster as well as the headunit.
 

akasonny

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Posts
198
Reaction score
59
Location
Sahuarita, AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Premium (Downshift Blue)
I tried the brightness (dimness) coding this weekend and it seemed to work afterwards. Then the next day i was driving the car, it acted like I never changed anything. The adjustment scroll wheel on the dash does nothing when I adjusted it and the screen was back to it's own mind. Has anyone had this happened? I won't be able to try this again until this weekend. But just incase someone has this experience or know that I did something wrong please reply (????)

I used OBD Link MX with Bimmercode (full version). Was able to change Auto Start/Stop behavior so I at least got that far.

One curious thing - does each change have to be made separately, i.e. can't combine several things in one "coding" step?
When you instruct the app to "code", it writes the entire set for that ECU including changes you've made just previously.
 

Kato

Active Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Posts
44
Reaction score
19
Location
Southern AZ
Car(s)
2018 Tacoma TRD Sport, 2020 GR Supra Phantom
I tried the brightness (dimness) coding this weekend and it seemed to work afterwards. Then the next day i was driving the car, it acted like I never changed anything. The adjustment scroll wheel on the dash does nothing when I adjusted it and the screen was back to it's own mind. Has anyone had this happened? I won't be able to try this again until this weekend. But just incase someone has this experience or know that I did something wrong please reply (????)

I used OBD Link MX with Bimmercode (full version). Was able to change Auto Start/Stop behavior so I at least got that far.

One curious thing - does each change have to be made separately, i.e. can't combine several things in one "coding" step?
Couldn't wait until this weekend. I went back into the head unit ECU tonight after work and found that "DIM_VARIANT = old" is still there, which is the setting that solves the problem with dim screen on the head unit. It turned out (silly me) the brightness setting after the change was made has to be adjusted via the menu (touch screen or controller on center console), but not from the thumbwheel on the dash.

In fact, 30MilesOffShore is correct, once this setting was done the thumbwheel has no effect on any brightness adjustment, be it instrument cluster or head display. Someone mentioned these two brightness adjustments (inst cluster and head unit display) can be decoupled but I don't know how.
 

Advertisement











 


Advertisement


Top