Active Sound Design - Am I the only one?

First Name
Sam
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2020 Supra, 2018 Vette Grand Sport
I've had my 2020 Soop for about two months now and have been seeing everyone complaining and deactivating their ASD. I always wondered why. As a music producer, I've always dreamt of ways of amplifying my exhaust note inside the cabin. This is why the first mod on every sports car I've had has something to do with sound. So much so, that I tried setting up a studio omni-mic in my Lotus Elise that would run through my stereo AUX. So much so, that I muffler deleted my C7 Grand Sport and stuck a GoPro by the tips to record for a client's project. All to make the exhaust notes more audible in the cabin, outside the car, up the street, on records etc.

So when I got the Supra I was excited to see what the ASD can do. Sure, it's not very apparent or exciting, likely due to the mic only picking a tiny frequency range in the low-mids, but I love the idea and even prefer ASD. This especially makes sense for smaller engines like a 4 or 6 that don't have alot of character in the lower rpm range unless you're wot. If anything, I want to hear my exhaust note from behind the car more than anybody else. If I can turn up the volume and widen the frequency range on that mic I would crank it.

I for one, love the idea and think it has a lot of potential. Anyone else out there with me? If not, what's your gripe with it? Why do you feel like it's corny?
Sponsored

romanLegion9574

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2021 Toyota Supra 3.0, 2023 Toyota GRC Core
This may be just me, but I feel that after I turned it off, I can hear the turbo so much better, especially on some spirited acceleration. I felt the ASD was loud enough to drown it out.

BA9092

First Name
Christian
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra Absolute Zero Premium
Sometimes it can be a bit obtrusive. I wish there was a way to change the "volume" on it.