A90 Supra MKV on the dyno

Waferz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Posts
379
Reaction score
269
Location
Louisiana
Car(s)
2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
Dyno runs with the Supra creep me

Car hates them, I still have fault codes that could not be cleared (BM3 app)

CD990B :(

Anyway around this?
Maybe tuning with Ecutek would get rid of them. I read about a lot of BM3 gremlins




Advertisement


 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Dyno runs with the Supra creep me

Car hates them, I still have fault codes that could not be cleared (BM3 app)

CD990B :(

Anyway around this?

Clear it. If it comes back disable the code. These cars had that code stock. Most people never noticed though.
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Maybe tuning with Ecutek would get rid of them. I read about a lot of BM3 gremlins
Unrelated to flashing platform.. Its there stock and each platform can disable it.
 

a90moe

Well-Known Member
First Name
Moe
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
791
Reaction score
721
Location
Kuwait
Car(s)
MKV Supra
Maybe tuning with Ecutek would get rid of them. I read about a lot of BM3 gremlins
Codes were present way before the tune..

So they are not tune related, just happens that the tune process brings them up when checking for DTC's at the end

I though they would go away after my last dealer visit, they replaced my headlight level sensor which broke during the dyno and it looks like they did not do any DTC clearing after
 

Waferz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Posts
379
Reaction score
269
Location
Louisiana
Car(s)
2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
Speaking of Supras on the dyno, I am working on setting up a Virtual Dyno file our cars. I don’t have any dynos in my area so I’ve been using a few other guys logs who have had dyno runs done for getting it close to accurate.

does anyone know:

1. the drag coefficient for the mk5

2. The fromtal area of the mk5

3. if pulls have to be done in 5-6 gear for accuracy. 4th gear seems to be the easiest to find space for and seemed to be fairly accurate with stock numbers.
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Speaking of Supras on the dyno, I am working on setting up a Virtual Dyno file our cars. I don’t have any dynos in my area so I’ve been using a few other guys logs who have had dyno runs done for getting it close to accurate.

does anyone know:

1. the drag coefficient for the mk5

2. The fromtal area of the mk5

3. if pulls have to be done in 5-6 gear for accuracy. 4th gear seems to be the easiest to find space for and seemed to be fairly accurate with stock numbers.
i have it already, can send to you later, i have 3-6th. of course 6th would be best, but most people wont do 160+ mph on the street, haha
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Side by side of our 767whp dyno pull with just plugging the log in from the same dyno pull.

Weight is different as car was on dyno so changed weight to roller wieghts and etc. Look how spot on. torque is a tad high. 640 VD vs 620 on actual dyno. But not bad.

PhotoGrid_1588600626556.jpg
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
I think I’ve got it pretty close now. Stock run shows 321/369 in 4th
No worries, was just trying to save you some time.
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,

a90moe

Well-Known Member
First Name
Moe
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
791
Reaction score
721
Location
Kuwait
Car(s)
MKV Supra
How did the dyno break your headlight sensor?
Stupid shop broke it whilst strapping the car.. Funny thing is shop broke 2 Supra's, I only found out it was the sensor next day looking up inside a hole, other Supra same thing with the codes too
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
775
Reaction score
910
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
Side by side of our 767whp dyno pull with just plugging the log in from the same dyno pull.

Weight is different as car was on dyno so changed weight to roller wieghts and etc. Look how spot on. torque is a tad high. 640 VD vs 620 on actual dyno. But not bad.

PhotoGrid_1588600626556.jpg

For shits and giggles. I switched the VD from above to dynojet correction. Lol

Twisted Supra1 dynojet dyno.jpg
 

Waferz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Posts
379
Reaction score
269
Location
Louisiana
Car(s)
2020 supra launch edition, 1993 rx7
For shits and giggles. I switched the VD from above to dynojet correction. Lol

Twisted Supra1 dynojet dyno.jpg
Damn!!!

obviously something is wrong with my VD file, it reads lower powered cars nearly spot on, but anything over 5-600 and the numbers don’t seem nearly as close
 

Advertisement











 


Advertisement


Top