A90 Supra MKV on the dyno

jtsang25

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2019
Posts
666
Reaction score
518
Location
Canada
Car(s)
2009 BMW 135i, 2020 Toyota GR Supra
Checked with a supplier from the US and was informed its not showing in US dealers inventory too

Part number shows no results

Needs to be ordered from Japan same as Kuwait...
Sorry my comment was a bad joke. Just assumed bmw parts equals order from Germany. But you said japan so I thought you found toyota manufactured parts on the car.




Advertisement


 

a90moe

Well-Known Member
First Name
Moe
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
762
Reaction score
681
Location
Kuwait
Car(s)
MKV Supra
Sorry my comment was a bad joke. Just assumed bmw parts equals order from Germany. But you said japan so I thought you found toyota manufactured parts on the car.
Haha yeah looks like the upper sensor is JDM lower part (plastic hand) still says BMW :D
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
764
Reaction score
899
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
yea, this is a common issue issue with shops not familiar with the suspension underpinnings of the car. but it really only takes the operator to pay a little attention of where they are hooking up at. easy problem that can be avoided with a little attention to detail
 

John8

Well-Known Member
First Name
John
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Posts
315
Reaction score
158
Location
AZ
Car(s)
2020 Supra Nitro, FJ Cruiser 2012
So what is the stock Supra really testing out to be in HP to the wheels?

I had mine out yesterday, pulled out onto a highway, safely and a person down the road, speeded up fast. I hit the gas, not to the floor and the front got light and drifted a bit but took off like a bat out of hell. Then before I knew it I was 20 over the speed limit and the person was coming up behind me again after I had slowed down. What a jerk and it turned out to be a woman. Very strange. Anyway, it feels like it puts out more than 335hp.
 

JasonO

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jason
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Posts
452
Reaction score
516
Location
Lake Charles, LA
Car(s)
Supra LE
So what is the stock Supra really testing out to be in HP to the wheels?

I had mine out yesterday, pulled out onto a highway, safely and a person down the road, speeded up fast. I hit the gas, not to the floor and the front got light and drifted a bit but took off like a bat out of hell. Then before I knew it I was 20 over the speed limit and the person was coming up behind me again after I had slowed down. What a jerk and it turned out to be a woman. Very strange. Anyway, it feels like it puts out more than 335hp.
It puts out roughly 335hp at the wheels.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.ca...mp27543113/2020-toyota-supra-dyno-horsepower/
 

LS3Twins

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ryan
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Posts
291
Reaction score
452
Location
Charlotte
Car(s)
2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
Rear headlight level senor was broken

Zipped tied it until I could order one tomorrow

No more chassis code
Yes it's very easy to diagnose. Mine had also been broken.

They are stocked here in the U.S. because it happened with my dyno shop as well. I had to order a new one and replace it. It is highly likely to happen again if your car goes on the dyno often I would order two of them just to be safe. There are 2 little barbs on there that just lock it in place on the control arm and they wear out after being popped out multiple times.
 

a90moe

Well-Known Member
First Name
Moe
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
762
Reaction score
681
Location
Kuwait
Car(s)
MKV Supra
Yes it's very easy to diagnose. Mine had also been broken.

They are stocked here in the U.S. because it happened with my dyno shop as well. I had to order a new one and replace it. It is highly likely to happen again if your car goes on the dyno often I would order two of them just to be safe. There are 2 little barbs on there that just lock it in place on the control arm and they wear out after being popped out multiple times.
Will take 35 days for it to arrive

Checked multiple places online for faster shipping with no success :(

Guess a hub dyno is whats next for this car

Thanks for helping out earlier on
 

LS3Twins

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ryan
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Posts
291
Reaction score
452
Location
Charlotte
Car(s)
2020 Supra 1998 E36M3 LS3 Twin Turbo
Will take 35 days for it to arrive

Checked multiple places online for faster shipping with no success :(

Guess a hub dyno is whats next for this car

Thanks for helping out earlier on
No problem man. I know how frustrating it was when mine got broken. :thumbsup:
 

yfeghhi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2019
Posts
197
Reaction score
94
Location
Deep in the Heart of, Texas
Website
www.instagram.com
Car(s)
2020 Supra MKV
Vehicle Showcase
1
Curious as to how much everyone has paid to get their car dynoed, not dyno tuned. Would like to take mine eventually and see what numbers it has stock since theres all the talk about the new MY21 power increase.
 

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
764
Reaction score
899
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
700+whp, 720tq on our MKV


also, decided to try and find the physical limit of the trans..... right around 750-760tq is where 6th start to slip. For those who don't know, 6th gear is usually the problem gear on most ZF's in terms of hold torque. Current only reporting 550nm to the trans though, so there may be some more headroom once i report the full amount of torque to it. But shouldnt be much more than that in my experience. See video below. no 6th gear lim modes, just over powering the trans....

 

mk3ownz

Member
First Name
tony
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Posts
24
Reaction score
22
Location
california
Car(s)
rx350 f sport
700+whp, 720tq on our MKV


also, decided to try and find the physical limit of the trans..... right around 750-760tq is where 6th start to slip. For those who don't know, 6th gear is usually the problem gear on most ZF's in terms of hold torque. Current only reporting 550nm to the trans though, so there may be some more headroom once i report the full amount of torque to it. But shouldnt be much more than that in my experience. See video below. no 6th gear lim modes, just over powering the trans....

do you also work on the zf trans?
 

Advertisement











 


Advertisement


Top