ECUTEK ProEcu For BMW B58/2020+ A90 Supra Discussion

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Posts
180
Reaction score
173
Location
Scottsdale AZ
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra
does ecutek works with the locked ecu for supra 2020?
Only if we bench unlock. I have the tools to bench unlock for EcuTek.

If you want to send me your ECU I can make this happen. But due to us being in other countries you may be out of a car for 1-2 weeks if customs is slow due to pandemic issues.




Advertisement


 
Last edited:
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
761
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #47
does ecutek works with the locked ecu for supra 2020?
yes and no. Need to have a bench unlock performed by someone with a BFlash programmer. Due to the way Ecutek does their licensing, right now the unlock only works with BFlash.
 

Camus

Well-Known Member
First Name
Daniel.
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Posts
89
Reaction score
61
Location
Elk Grove, California
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra , 2006 Z4M Roadster, Accord 15 v6 - 6, Mini S 2020.
How do I know if it's locked? I have BM3 and I am able to flash any rom. Is this something recent?
Got my Supra on Dec 2019.

Btw, do you know about this flash count limit where you can't flash it anymore?
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Posts
180
Reaction score
173
Location
Scottsdale AZ
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra
How do I know if it's locked? I have BM3 and I am able to flash any rom. Is this something recent?
Got my Supra on Dec 2019.

Btw, do you know about this flash count limit where you can't flash it anymore?
If you are able to flash now you are fine. Newer production cars have the new update. And some dealers install it. Such as in california. Most the cars sold after Jan seem to have this update.

As for a Max flash count I think I have surpassed 1,000 flashes on my personal car so far. All ecus can wear out after a number of flashes. However mine is still working at 1000+
 
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
761
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #50
How do I know if it's locked? I have BM3 and I am able to flash any rom. Is this something recent?
Got my Supra on Dec 2019.

Btw, do you know about this flash count limit where you can't flash it anymore?
if you have BM3 already, you can use that to see what ROM you have on there iirc. Connect and read codes. or start the process of flashing, but not actually hitting the button to start the flash. Should be info on ROM ID.
 

Nocturnal LE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Daniel
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Posts
135
Reaction score
76
Location
Cleveland, OH
Car(s)
2020 Supra LE
I picked up my Launch Edition in August last year, so I doubt my ECU is locked. I have the recall notice for my rearview camera brightness (although I don't notice any issues). Can I get this recall done and just tell them not to re-flash? Or should I avoid it altogether?
 
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
761
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #52
I picked up my Launch Edition in August last year, so I doubt my ECU is locked. I have the recall notice for my rearview camera brightness (although I don't notice any issues). Can I get this recall done and just tell them not to re-flash? Or should I avoid it altogether?
I would avoid it if youre not having issues. you could always tell them not to flash it. doesn't mean they wont.
 

Lenny0

Member
First Name
Lenny
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
New York
Car(s)
2020 Toyota Supra GR
I'm picking up my Supra tomorrow. I'm assuming the ECU is locked. What are my options as far as flashing/tuning if it’s locked? Will any tuning mods work with a locked ECU? BM, JB4, EcuTek or MHD?
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Posts
180
Reaction score
173
Location
Scottsdale AZ
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra
I'm picking up my Supra tomorrow. I'm assuming the ECU is locked. What are my options as far as flashing/tuning if it’s locked? Will any tuning mods work with a locked ECU? BM, JB4, EcuTek or MHD?
JB4 will work.

I can unlock an ecu to use with EcuTek. Removing it takes under 5 minutes. And I do a same day turn around.
 
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
761
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #56

METAL

Well-Known Member
First Name
K2
Joined
May 26, 2020
Posts
90
Reaction score
20
Location
Peoria, AZ
Car(s)
2021 Tungsten GR Supra
Once unlocked can it be locked again by the dealer? Will the dealer alway try to lock the ecu everytime its brought in, even for an oil change?
 

kona61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Josh
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Posts
977
Reaction score
1,323
Location
San Bernardino-ish, CA
Car(s)
5G 4Runner, MK7 Golf, AZW LE Supra
Vehicle Showcase
1
Once unlocked can it be locked again by the dealer? Will the dealer alway try to lock the ecu everytime its brought in, even for an oil change?
No, I told them not to flash my car when I got an oil change last week and they didn't. I put a piece of duck tape over the OBD2 port and it was still there.
 

Nocturnal LE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Daniel
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Posts
135
Reaction score
76
Location
Cleveland, OH
Car(s)
2020 Supra LE
No, I told them not to flash my car when I got an oil change last week and they didn't. I put a piece of duck tape over the OBD2 port and it was still there.
Good to know, I'll do this and ask to talk to the tech
 

Advertisement











 


Advertisement


Top