Advertisement

ECUTEK ProEcu For BMW B58/2020+ A90 Supra Discussion

Discussion in 'DME / ECU Software Tuning' started by Twisted Tuning, Mar 17, 2020.

  1. Marin@MarinTuned

    [email protected] Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Car(s):
    2020 GR Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Location:
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts:
    146
    Liked:
    124
    #46 Jun 9, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2020
    Only if we bench unlock. I have the tools to bench unlock for EcuTek.

    If you want to send me your ECU I can make this happen. But due to us being in other countries you may be out of a car for 1-2 weeks if customs is slow due to pandemic issues.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    743
    Liked:
    871
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    yes and no. Need to have a bench unlock performed by someone with a BFlash programmer. Due to the way Ecutek does their licensing, right now the unlock only works with BFlash.
     
  3. Camus

    Camus Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Daniel.
    Car(s):
    2020 GR Supra , 2006 Z4M Roadster, Accord 15 v6 - 6, Mini S 2020.
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Posts:
    82
    Liked:
    59
    Occupation:
    Graphics Software Engineer
    How do I know if it's locked? I have BM3 and I am able to flash any rom. Is this something recent?
    Got my Supra on Dec 2019.

    Btw, do you know about this flash count limit where you can't flash it anymore?
     
  4. Marin@MarinTuned

    [email protected] Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Car(s):
    2020 GR Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Location:
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts:
    146
    Liked:
    124
    If you are able to flash now you are fine. Newer production cars have the new update. And some dealers install it. Such as in california. Most the cars sold after Jan seem to have this update.

    As for a Max flash count I think I have surpassed 1,000 flashes on my personal car so far. All ecus can wear out after a number of flashes. However mine is still working at 1000+
     
    XPOTTEDPLANTX likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    743
    Liked:
    871
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    if you have BM3 already, you can use that to see what ROM you have on there iirc. Connect and read codes. or start the process of flashing, but not actually hitting the button to start the flash. Should be info on ROM ID.
     
  6. Nocturnal LE

    Nocturnal LE Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Daniel
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra LE
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts:
    133
    Liked:
    74
    I picked up my Launch Edition in August last year, so I doubt my ECU is locked. I have the recall notice for my rearview camera brightness (although I don't notice any issues). Can I get this recall done and just tell them not to re-flash? Or should I avoid it altogether?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    743
    Liked:
    871
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    I would avoid it if youre not having issues. you could always tell them not to flash it. doesn't mean they wont.
     
  8. Lenny0

    Lenny0 Member

    First Name:
    Lenny
    Car(s):
    2020 Toyota Supra GR
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    14
    Liked:
    3
    I'm picking up my Supra tomorrow. I'm assuming the ECU is locked. What are my options as far as flashing/tuning if it’s locked? Will any tuning mods work with a locked ECU? BM, JB4, EcuTek or MHD?
     
  9. Marin@MarinTuned

    [email protected] Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    Car(s):
    2020 GR Supra
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Location:
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts:
    146
    Liked:
    124
    JB4 will work.

    I can unlock an ecu to use with EcuTek. Removing it takes under 5 minutes. And I do a same day turn around.
     
    XPOTTEDPLANTX likes this.
  10. Lenny0

    Lenny0 Member

    First Name:
    Lenny
    Car(s):
    2020 Toyota Supra GR
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    14
    Liked:
    3
    Unfortunately I’m in NY. But thank you I will look into JB4
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Twisted Tuning

    Twisted Tuning Well-Known Member
    Gold Sponsor


    First Name:
    Justin
    Car(s):
    Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    743
    Liked:
    871
    Occupation:
    calibration specialist
    Home Page:
    Where at in NY? Im in NY
     
    XPOTTEDPLANTX likes this.
  12. Lenny0

    Lenny0 Member

    First Name:
    Lenny
    Car(s):
    2020 Toyota Supra GR
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Location:
    New York
    Posts:
    14
    Liked:
    3
    Long Island
     
  13. METAL

    METAL Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    K2
    Car(s):
    2021 Tungsten GR Supra
    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Posts:
    87
    Liked:
    20
    Occupation:
    New Home Sales Associate
    Once unlocked can it be locked again by the dealer? Will the dealer alway try to lock the ecu everytime its brought in, even for an oil change?
     
  14. kona61

    kona61 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Josh
    Car(s):
    5G 4Runner, MK7 Golf, AZW LE Supra
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Location:
    San Bernardino-ish, CA
    Posts:
    976
    Liked:
    1,323
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    No, I told them not to flash my car when I got an oil change last week and they didn't. I put a piece of duck tape over the OBD2 port and it was still there.
     
    Nocturnal LE likes this.
  15. Nocturnal LE

    Nocturnal LE Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Daniel
    Car(s):
    2020 Supra LE
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts:
    133
    Liked:
    74
    Good to know, I'll do this and ask to talk to the tech
     

Share This Page

Loading...