Featured A90 Supra MKV on the dyno

Discussion in 'General Supra Topics' started by Goose, Jul 23, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    442
    Liked:
    694
    I'm willing to toss mine on a Dynojet and Mustang dyno.

    FOR SCIENCE! Just need days off.
     
    Bryster likes this.
  2. johnny_10196

    johnny_10196 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    John
    Car(s):
    Ford
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Location:
    US
    Posts:
    862
    Liked:
    1,312
  3. BRX

    BRX Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Abdulla
    Car(s):
    Tundra, Celica, GT86
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts:
    295
    Liked:
    609
    The high torque is due to it being in 5th (1.3:1) gear not 6th (1.0:1). A simple rough calculation converting the ratios would give about 330lb.ft of torque.

    Regarding the torque converter locking up, look up torque converter torque multiplication. Basically when a converter is unlocked it acts like a bigger gear driving a smaller gear by fluid. Once it's locked, the ratio goes back to 1:1 reducing the torque output.
     
  4. MA617M

    MA617M Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    lots
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    Posts:
    1,865
    Liked:
    4,427
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Not to mention press cars would have been thoroughly "run in" as compare D to cars fresh from production. The engines would have free'd up a little I'm sure
     
    A70TTR likes this.
  5. AHP

    AHP Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    '93 Supra TT Hardtop, '09 Corvette ZR1, '07 Corvette, '13 G37x, '10 Escalade ESV
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Location:
    CLT, NC
    Posts:
    176
    Liked:
    278
    Garage Profiles:
    1


    Sorry, but it doesn't really work that way. Gearing/mechanical TQ multiplication doesn't influence dyno measurements as you've described. If the engine theoretically output the same TQ at the same RPM in say 1st gear as it did in 6th, the dyno would read nearly the same result. All the dyno knows is how quickly you accelerate the drum/hub from RPM X to RPM Y over time.
     
    DesmoSD likes this.
  6. AHP

    AHP Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    '93 Supra TT Hardtop, '09 Corvette ZR1, '07 Corvette, '13 G37x, '10 Escalade ESV
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Location:
    CLT, NC
    Posts:
    176
    Liked:
    278
    Garage Profiles:
    1


    As you're probably aware there are several Dynojet's around CLT, so shouldn't be tough. I have access to one at my buddy's shop in Greensboro if you need an alternative option. Also 3SX/Performance Factory in Concord has an AWD SuperFlow and they're doing a dyno day on 8/10. My experience on their SuperFlow is it reads 3-5% lower than a Dynojet (though they like to refer to it as a heartbreaker).
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Goose

    Goose Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Michael
    Car(s):
    2013 FRS
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    NC
    Posts:
    442
    Liked:
    694
    I was thinking Pro Dyno, since I'm not off on the 10th, but I can still go up there. Probably should, since I think I'm friends with employees on facebook.
     
  8. harddrivin1le

    harddrivin1le Member

    First Name:
    Pete Shea
    Car(s):
    2018 VW GTI Autobahn
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Location:
    Southern New England, USA
    Posts:
    5
    Liked:
    7
    Quarter mile trap speed is the bogie to watch because it's far less impacted by off the line traction limitations than 0- 60 times and quarter mile ETs.
     
    SupraFiend likes this.
  9. Toyotawild

    Toyotawild Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Zach
    Car(s):
    07 Toyota Tundra supercharged, 03 Acura cls-6
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Location:
    Richland wa
    Posts:
    367
    Liked:
    250
    Screenshot_20190802-161611_Facebook.jpg
     
    Bryster likes this.
  10. Toyotawild

    Toyotawild Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Zach
    Car(s):
    07 Toyota Tundra supercharged, 03 Acura cls-6
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Location:
    Richland wa
    Posts:
    367
    Liked:
    250
    Go titan!
     
  11. johnny_10196

    johnny_10196 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    John
    Car(s):
    Ford
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Location:
    US
    Posts:
    862
    Liked:
    1,312
    KahnBB6 and Goose like this.
  12. SupraFiend

    SupraFiend Well-Known Member

    Car(s):
    5 Supras currently
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Posts:
    554
    Liked:
    801
    Obviously blue is not the stock tune. Would love to see the rest of that graph!
     
  13. Toyotawild

    Toyotawild Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Zach
    Car(s):
    07 Toyota Tundra supercharged, 03 Acura cls-6
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Location:
    Richland wa
    Posts:
    367
    Liked:
    250
    No it was their first tune. Made 336hp 368 stock
     
  14. Coldskeet

    Coldskeet Active Member

    First Name:
    Mike
    Car(s):
    Tahoe
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Location:
    Houston
    Posts:
    37
    Liked:
    51
    I may get laughed at but I want to see a side by side of a Premium 3.0 and a Launch Edition on the dyno. I know they are supposed to be the same but how will we ever actually know unless someone dynos just a premium?
     
    Bryster likes this.
  15. BRX

    BRX Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Abdulla
    Car(s):
    Tundra, Celica, GT86
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts:
    295
    Liked:
    609
    Sorry, but I'll take the word of mainline. Different gears do give different torque readings unless the dyno is setup to correct them. There is a shop in my area that is known to make insane numbers of torque because he does 2nd gear pulls to inflate the numbers. You could also simply change the tire size on the dyno configuration and see how it can affects torque.

    Mainline Dyno.png

    https://www.mainlinedyno.com.au/images/downloads/DYNO_TORQUE_FIGURES_-_THE_TRUTH.pdf

    Even if we disregard how dynos measure torque, the car's ECU could simply output different torque numbers at different gears. Only way to know for sure is get a car on a dyno and test it in different gears.
     

Share This Page

Loading...