ECUTEK ProEcu For BMW B58/2020+ A90 Supra Discussion

65sohc

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ken
Joined
Mar 8, 2020
Posts
301
Reaction score
134
Location
Fresno, CA
Car(s)
2020 Supra, 65 GTO restomod, 66 Mustang restomod
My car is not flex fuel but I do have dedicated e50 and e85 tunes. My understanding is that e85 is pushing the limits of volume that the stock fuel system can supply. e50 is still around 102 octane, so it has plenty of knock resistance, but does not require as rich a mixture. Hence the volume of fuel required is more comfortably within the capability of that which the fuel pumps and injectors can supply. Therefore the tune can be more aggressive. Testing on various other engines has shown that the majority of benefit is achieved around e50-60 and beyond that you reach the point of diminishing returns except in all out race engines.




Advertisement


 
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
757
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #137
Are there any post intercooler setups available yet?

we originally started development on a direct port meth system when these cars first came out. we were semi close to final design and release. but EOS released their Port injection Kit (for like regular fuel and etc) so we kinda put the Direct port meth kit on hold since figured most people would be buying the Port injection kit from EOS.

if there is still interest for it, it can be finished.

https://www.supramkv.com/threads/direct-port-meth-injection-kit-r-d.1955/
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Posts
180
Reaction score
171
Location
Scottsdale AZ
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra
My car is not flex fuel but I do have dedicated e50 and e85 tunes. My understanding is that e85 is pushing the limits of volume that the stock fuel system can supply. e50 is still around 102 octane, so it has plenty of knock resistance, but does not require as rich a mixture. Hence the volume of fuel required is more comfortably within the capability of that which the fuel pumps and injectors can supply. Therefore the tune can be more aggressive. Testing on various other engines has shown that the majority of benefit is achieved around e50-60 and beyond that you reach the point of diminishing returns except in all out race engines.
Correc E50 has plenty of octane. A study by MIT showed E40-50 is where you break into the 100+ area. Bu there are some extra benefits of increased ethanol but they are mild. This car is a little more sensitive than some but you really gain minimal pass E50. But the flow requirements are hard to handle getting past that and we have to reduce torque down low a decent ibt.
 

METAL

Well-Known Member
First Name
K2
Joined
May 26, 2020
Posts
90
Reaction score
20
Location
Peoria, AZ
Car(s)
2021 Tungsten GR Supra
You should talk to your tuner about how they want to go about this.

I start everyone on 91 octane and dial the car in. And then i have my procedure that we go through after that.
Sounds good. I'll reach out to you when ready.
 

ahmadqtr1

Member
First Name
Ahmad
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Posts
13
Reaction score
4
Location
doha-qatar
Car(s)
2020 gr supra
Hello all, I'm sure a lot of you already saw that ECUTEK is in BETA currently. So this thread im creating for a discussion where you can post questions, concerns, and anything under the sun in regards to Ecutek for your vehicle. I am an Ecutek Master Tuner, so i can help with whatever you need.

3DBox_BMW_B58_Supra_Beta.png


Ecutek Proecu for BMW B58 / Toyota Supra supports all worldwide vehicles fitted with the B58 B30 turbocharged engine, including:
  • 2019–present G20 BMW 340i
  • 2019–present G11 & G12 BMW 740i
  • 2019–present G07 BMW X7 xDrive40i
  • 2019–present G29 BMW Z4
  • 2019–present G29 BMW Z4 M40i
  • 2019–present B58 Toyota Supra MkV
More Infro and updates will be added here as they arrive.
Can i switch tuner when using Ecutek or my ECU will be locked and can be accessed by one tuner? My ECU is locked I have to send it for unlock. Appreciate the feedback.
 
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
757
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #141
Can i switch tuner when using Ecutek or my ECU will be locked and can be accessed by one tuner? My ECU is locked I have to send it for unlock. Appreciate the feedback.
Yes you can switch tuners. Ecu wont be locked in that aspect.
 

Bflood

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2020
Posts
90
Reaction score
29
Location
Columbus OH
Car(s)
3.0 Premium
My car is not flex fuel but I do have dedicated e50 and e85 tunes. My understanding is that e85 is pushing the limits of volume that the stock fuel system can supply. e50 is still around 102 octane, so it has plenty of knock resistance, but does not require as rich a mixture. Hence the volume of fuel required is more comfortably within the capability of that which the fuel pumps and injectors can supply. Therefore the tune can be more aggressive. Testing on various other engines has shown that the majority of benefit is achieved around e50-60 and beyond that you reach the point of diminishing returns except in all out race engines.
I would NOT run e85 without going to port. e50 pushes the limits of the stock fuel system so e85 would destroy it. I remember hearing early on some people having to replace their factory pumps when running e85 and they're 1200 each! Definitely not worth it imo.
 

Madgavis

Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
6
Reaction score
3
Location
North Carolina
Car(s)
A90 Supra
Just had my car tuned on Ecutek running 93 pump gas. I was running stage 2 OTS BM3. I don't have any baseline pulls on BM3 as I flashed the car to stock before it was put on the dyno. I'm impressed with the way the car feels now. The power delivery is extremely refined compared to BM3. The car was tuned by Mike Botti and he was awesome all the way through the process, really down to earth and friendly guy. My mod list is Titan Motorsports catless downpipe, MST Instake, and Boost Logic non valved system.

l7QmuN5.jpg
 

Ultimateone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Posts
423
Reaction score
298
Location
Boston
Car(s)
AW A90
Botti is a legend and monster
 

KillxPoint

Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Posts
260
Reaction score
123
Location
Folsom CA
Car(s)
2017 Tacoma 2020 Supra!
I have a tuning question. My car is currently stock and had some computer problems like wiper blade twitch (fixed) and no power when cold start in the mornings (in service atm being fixed). How they have attempted and fixed these issues is by reseting all the computer components and or pulling them out and reinstalling the software.

I want to tune this car but was worried that if these issues arise again and they reset or reinstall software will if override the tune? If it does will i be able to reflash the car or will i have to unlock the ecu all over again and buy another license? Any input would be great. @Twisted Tuning
 

Ultimateone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Posts
423
Reaction score
298
Location
Boston
Car(s)
AW A90
I think you should start to worry about getting your car 100% before doing literally anything else right now.
 
OP
Twisted Tuning

Twisted Tuning

Well-Known Member
Gold Sponsor
First Name
Justin
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Posts
757
Reaction score
897
Location
New York
Website
www.twistedtuning.com
Car(s)
Supra MKV, BMW 135i, BMW 335xi, Mazda 6 Twin Turbo,
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #149
I have a tuning question. My car is currently stock and had some computer problems like wiper blade twitch (fixed) and no power when cold start in the mornings (in service atm being fixed). How they have attempted and fixed these issues is by reseting all the computer components and or pulling them out and reinstalling the software.

I want to tune this car but was worried that if these issues arise again and they reset or reinstall software will if override the tune? If it does will i be able to reflash the car or will i have to unlock the ecu all over again and buy another license? Any input would be great. @Twisted Tuning
if by chance your ECU was one of the ones that didnt need an unlock initially, it will certainly need one once the dealer updates the modules. The Dealer software on the toyota side does not have and "Expert" mode like the BMW version. That means they cant just update individual modules. They have to update of them that get pinged for an update.

So, yes, there is a possibility of needing to perform a bench unlock after dealer updates. almost certain they will update to the locked ROM (not the new bootloader lock).
 

Advertisement











 


Advertisement


Top