Tuning 2021 Supra questions

domtags30

First Name
Dominic
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2020 GR Supra
Hey guys, scoured the forums for a bit here but can’t really find exactly what I am looking for. I have a 21 Supra with a 02/2020 ECU. I know I can tune without the big issue the post 06/2020s have. However, I am curious to know if I will need an unlock still. I’ve read that 2020 Supras with the brake recall have to get unlocked. Is that the case with 21s as well?
Second question is in regards to Visconti tuning. I am very new to sports cars and tuning and this is my first one. Through research I think a ecutek is best for me because it has the app. What would I have to purchase in order to get setup? Do I just buy the software or do I need to buy a tune with it? I tried using the contact form on their website but have not received a response back in a couple weeks so I figured I would come here!
Sponsored

zrk

First Name
Zack
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2021 Supra - Nocturnal Black
You will likely need a bench unlock. You'll know for sure if you have full-screen CarPlay.

Ecutek is great, but if 'the app' is the reason you're choosing it, I think you might be a little misinformed. BM3, MHD, and Ecutek all have apps, and each is just as good as the next.

BM3 and MHD both have off-the-shelf maps that are good for cars with few to no modifications. Ecutek will require a custom tune; they don't provide anything off-the-shelf.

Jesse DaBears

Gold Sponsor
First Name
Jesse
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
A90 Tungsten Supra 3.0 Premium
You will likely need a bench unlock. You'll know for sure if you have full-screen CarPlay.

Ecutek is great, but if 'the app' is the reason you're choosing it, I think you might be a little misinformed. BM3, MHD, and Ecutek all have apps, and each is just as good as the next.